Canadian Metal Rap Rockers, Fatal Switch presents “Who We Are”

Call it foreshadowing; Canadian metal rap rockers Fatal Switch are serving indelible insight on what’s to come from them thanks to their new single “Who We Are” — available now!

The boundary-pushing band liken themselves as a response to a question that can never be answered: what exactly are they?

The answer will come soon in the form of their debut album Doctors & Demons — coming 2019.

Mashing genres is second nature for the group, says frontman Steve Tobin; think swift storytelling rooted in hip hop mixed with unparalleled metal mayhem by way of heavy drums and guitar licks.

The result? An innovative sound that near lives outside of music altogether.

“The exciting story and mood board director Alberto D’Onofrio brought forth was a daunting task to complete on a limited budget,” Tobin recalls on how the cinematic video came to be.

Despite the barrier, the group were enamoured, and pressed on. “Rubicon Pictures and Media produced on the project, and they stepped up big time to overcome the financial challenge. Not only did they take on the video as a passion project, they collaborated with ACTRA in order to involve highly rated professional talent.”

The video features Orphée Ladouceur-Nguyen (Altered Carbon) in the lead role, with Alex Stines (Turbo Kid, Eric Speed: Maniac), Don Anderson (Assassin’s Creed: Origins, The Kate Logan Affair), Mitch Todorovic, Jake Lewis, Laura Lu, and Chloe Morin.

The talent train didn’t stop there; Patrick Kerton (Suicide Squad, X-Men: Days of Future Past, 300) carefully orchestrated and oversaw the video’s complex stunt choreography.

Mastered by mastered by Ryan Morey (Arcade Fire, Priestess) and recorded at Uplift Studios with Montreal-based producer Kevin Jardine, the track — along with the rest of the album — boasts several styles and techniques wrapped together into one. Tobin worked closely with Jardine to craft the compositions that would ultimately shape this innovative hybrid project into a highly-unique album.

Between Jardine’s dynamic arrangements and Tobin’s meticulously crafted lyrics, Mike Gerbasi (guitar), Luca Tobin (bass), and Peter Tzefaris (drums) deepened the sound’s dimensions and offered additional complex texture to the music. The current live band includes rhythm guitarist Ryann Paqueo (Severed Wings), drummer Ralph A Samah (Chainsaw Armageddon), and guitarist Max Rope.

“Who We Are” is available now.

We would like to thank Eric Alper for the Press Release.