November 21

Hockey Hall Of Fame Induction Week@Brookfield Place-Fri.,Nov.15th-Mon.,Nov.18th,2019

On Friday, November 15, the induction, the Official Ring Presentation and photo opportunity were held at the Hockey Hall of Fame, Esso Great Hall.
Six individuals were elected to The Hockey Hall of Fame’s Honoured Membership, in both the Player and Builder Category.

On Sunday, November 17, 2019 – the HAGGAR HHOF LEGENDS CLASSIC game
took place at the Scotiabank Arena with Team Lidstrum winning over Team Sundin 12-11 in a shoot out.

On Monday, November 18-the red carpet gala was held in the Allen Lambert Galleria, Brookfield Place prior to the Induction Ceremony.
“The Hockey Hall of Fame is proud to welcome these hockey legends as Honoured Members,” said Lanny McDonald. “Their contributions to the game of hockey are well documented and their election to the Hockey Hall of Fame is richly deserved.”

In the Builder Category, two individuals were elected.

Jim Rutherford was a first round selection of the Detroit Red Wings in 1969 and after his playing career ended, he embarked on a long and storied career in management. From his start with the Windsor Spitfires in 1984, Jim went on to the General Manager post with the Hartford franchise for 20 years, winning a Stanley Cup in Carolina in 2006. He currently holds the post of GM with the Pittsburgh Penguins, where he won Stanley Cups in 2016 and 2017.

“I started my career in Beeton, 50 miles north of the Hall of Fame, never dreaming that I would once be in it,” said Rutherford. “I’ve travelled lots of miles in hockey and met so many great people along the way.”

Jerry York
Also in the Builder Category, Jerry York was elected. Jerry began his NCAA coaching career at Clarkson University in 1972, moving to Bowling Green in 1979. In 15 years at Bowling Green his teams had six NCAA tournament berths, winning the title in 1984. He then moved to Boston College where he has won an additional four NCAA championships.

“I’m flabbergasted with this unexpected honour,” said York. “I will cherish this special recognition.”

In the Player Category, four individuals were elected.

Guy Charbonneau.

Guy Carbonneau played 13 seasons with the Montreal Canadiens, winning the Selke Award as the NHL’S top defensive forward three times – in addition to Stanley Cups in 1986 and 1993. He also played five seasons with the Dallas Stars, winning another Stanley Cup in 1999.

“This is an honour you think about, but it’s never a sure thing,” said Carbonneau. “It is an incredible recognition and I thank the Selection Committee.”

Vaclav Nedomansky.

Vaclav Nedomansky played 12 seasons professionally in Bratislava before becoming the first athlete from an Eastern European communist country to defect to North America to pursue a professional hockey career. He starred in the WHA with the Toronto Toros and Birmingham Bulls before joining the Detroit Red Wings as a 33-year-old rookie in 1977.

“I appreciate my accomplishments being recognized by the Hockey Hall of Fame,” said Nedomansky. “I’m proud to be the first player from a communist country to come and play in North America.”

Hayley Wickenheiser.
Hayley Wickenheiser has played professionally in both men’s and women’s hockey, won seven Women’s World Championship gold medals, as well as four Olympic gold medals in 21 seasons as a member of Canada’s national team.

Sergei Zubov.
Sergei Zubov joined the New York Rangers in 1992 after playing four seasons with the Moscow Red Army. A member of the Rangers’ 1994 Stanley Cup team, Sergei also played 12 seasons with the Dallas Stars, winning a second Stanley Cup in 1999.

“Deep down in my heart I am so glad to receive this honour,” said Zubov. “It has been my pleasure to have been involved in hockey all of my life.”

We would like to thank Bob Stellick and Kelly Masse for the invitation to this event.