April 08

The Country Music Association of Ontario Announces  2021 CMAOntario Awards Nominees

The Country Music Association of Ontario Announces  2021 CMAOntario Awards Nominees Meghan Patrick, Tim Hicks, and Robyn Ottolini Lead In Nominations   The Country Music Association of Ontario (CMAOntario) is excited to announce the nominees for the 9th Annual CMAOntario Awards, taking place Sunday, May 30, 2021 as a drive-in style event at the Ancaster Fairgrounds in Hamilton, Ontario. Leading the nominations are 15 time CMAOntario Award winner Meghan Patrick, nine time CMAOntario Award winner Tim Hicks, and viral sensation Robyn Ottolini, with five nominations each.Hosted by Jason McCoy and Beverley Mahood, the CMAOntario Award Show will close out the CMAOntario Festival & Awards Weekend May 28 – 30, 2021. After presenting the first ever, live, drive-in country music awards show in October 2020, CMAOntario is happy to do it all again this year in Hamilton. The CMAOntario Awards, presented by Slaight Music, will acknowledge the talent and achievements of Ontario’s country music industry across 18 categories. The Final Nominees for the 9th Annual CMAOntario Awards are: SINGLE OF THE YEAR“All I Can Do” – Buck Twenty“F-150” – Robyn Ottolini“Girls Like Me” – Meghan Patrick“No Truck Song” – Tim Hicks“Thank Her For That” – Owen Barney ALBUM OF THE YEARAll Woman – Nicole RayyHighway Mile – Aaron AllenJade Eagleson – Jade EaglesonLove Wins – Kelly PrescottThe I’m Not Always Hilarious EP – Robyn Ottolini SONGWRITER(S) OF THE YEARCallie McCullough, Scotty Kipfer – “After Midnight”  Recorded by Callie McCulloughJamie Appleby, Owen Barney, Alyssa Reid, Dave Thomson, Mike Wise – “Thank Her For That” Recorded by Owen BarneyMeghan Patrick, Jobe Fortner, Ryan Nelson – “Girls Like Me” Recorded by Meghan PatrickRobyn Ottolini, Mark Schroor, Erik Fintelman – “F-150” Recorded by Robyn OttoliniTim Hicks, Bruce Wallace, Jeffrey Coplan – “No Truck Song” Recorded by Tim Hicks FEMALE ARTIST OF THE YEARElyse SaundersKelsi MayneMeghan PatrickRobyn OttoliniTianna Woods MALE ARTIST OF THE YEARAaron AllenAndrew HyattDarcy JohnDavid Boyd JanesTim Hicks GROUP OR DUO OF THE YEARBuck TwentyJess and TayThe AbramsThe ReklawsThe Western Swing Authority FRANCOPHONE ARTIST OF THE YEARKristine St-PierreLes Rats D’SwompeMelissa OuimetReney RayStef Paquette RISING STAR OF THE YEAR Buck TwentyCallie McCulloughElyse SaundersRobyn OttoliniSacha MUSIC VIDEO OF THE YEAR“All I Can Do” – Buck Twenty“Broken Boys” – Nicole Rayy“Girls Like Me” – Meghan Patrick“No Truck Song” – Tim Hicks“Where I’m From” – The Reklaws FANS’ CHOICEAndrew HyattJade EaglesonJames Barker BandMeghan PatrickSteven Lee OlsenTebeyThe ReklawsTim Hicks RECORD PRODUCER OF THE YEAR Dustin Olyan – Callie McCullough, Twin Kennedy, Mallory JohnsonJeff Dalziel – Aaron Allen, David Boyd Janes, River Town SaintsMark Schroor, Erik Fintelman – Robyn Ottolini, Alexa Goldie, Cory James MitchellJ. Richard Hutt – Jamie Warren, Sean Hogan, Jessie T, Tianna WoodsShawn Moore – Ben Hudson, Matt Teed, Emily Clair, Evan Farrell, Emily Kate ROOTS ARTIST OR GROUP OF THE YEAR Kelly Prescott The Abrams The Good BrothersThe Redhill ValleysThe Western Swing Authority RADIO STATION OF THE YEAR (LARGE MARKET) CHKX KX 94.7, HamiltonCIKZ COUNTRY 106.7, KitchenerCJKX KX 96, OshawaCKDK COUNTRY 104, WoodstockCKKL PURE COUNTRY 94, Ottawa RADIO STATION OF THE YEAR (MEDIUM MARKET)   CFCO COUNTRY 92.9, ChathamCHCQ-FM COOL 100.1 FM, BellevilleCJQM COUNTRY 104.3, Sault Ste. MarieCKQM PURE COUNTRY 105, PeterboroughCKXC COUNTRY 93.5, Kingston   RADIO STATION OF THE YEAR (SMALL MARKET) CFDC COUNTRY 105, ShelburneCHAW COUNTRY 103, Little CurrentCHVR PURE COUNTRY 96.7, PembrokeCICX PURE COUNTRY 106, OrilliaCJDL COUNTRY 107.3, TillsonburgCKYY COUNTRY 89, Welland MUSIC INDUSTRY PERSON OF THE YEARAmanda Kingsland, Country 92.3/Rogers CommunicationsDave Woods, In The CountryRandy Owen, Radio Host/PersonalitySteve Coady, Warner Music Canada Tommy KW Lam, Reve Music Group Inc. THE COMPASS AWARD This recipient is based on a combination of Nielsen Audio On-Demand Streams, Album Sales, Digital Song downloads, and Airplay Spins metrics along with statistics for Facebook, Instagram and, Twitter. The artist, duo, or group with the largest overall outcome of said metrics during the applicable period will be deemed the recipient. THE HOLLY & STEVE KASSAY GENEROUS SPIRIT AWARD This award recognizes a person who has dedicated their time and efforts above and beyond the call of duty. It acknowledges that demonstrated passion and dedication plays an integral role in the continued development of the organization and its initiatives. The recipient of this award is determined by the award Sponsor in consultation with the CMAOntario Board of Directors. Voting for the awards is restricted to CMAOntario members, with the exception of the Fans’ Choice award, which is open to both public and membership voting. Eligible members will have the opportunity to vote on the final ballot as of today up until April 19, 2021. Music fans can cast their votes for the Fans’ Choice award beginning on April 19 until May 7, 2021 at www.cmaontario.ca/awards/voting.Performers, ticket details, and additional events from the CMAOntario Festival & Awards Weekend will be announced in the coming weeks.The CMAOntario Awards are presented by Slaight Music. CMAOntario Award Show Sunday, May 30, 2021 at 7pm Ancaster Fairgrounds 630 Trinity Road South, Hamilton Tickets On Sale April 19, 2021 CMAOntario Festival & Awards Weekend May 28 – 30, 2021 Hamilton, Ontario www.cmaontario.ca All events subject to change due to COVID-19 restrictions and protocols Facebook / Twitter / Instagram: @theCMAOntario We would like to thank Damien Nelson of Want & Able Arts Consulting for the press release and artist profile.