April 23

Félix Dufour-Laperrière’s “ARCHIPELAGO”-North American premiere at Hot Docs

Félix Dufour-Laperrière’s ARCHIPELAGO

North American premiere at Hot Docs

La Distributrice de films and Embuscade Films are proud to announce that Archipelago, an animated documentary feature by Félix Dufour-Laperrière, will be presented as a North American premiere at the Hot Docs Canadian International Documentary Festival, taking placeonline from April 29 to May 9 and accessible throughout Canada. The film will be presented in official competition in the “Canadian Spectrum” section, and it will also be eligible for the audience award.

Archipelago is an ambitious project that offers a poetic, political experience, in the midst of the real and invented Quebec. This visual and sensory exploration is strengthened by the work of a dozen talented animators who were free to follow their inspiration—each sequence in the film relies on a different animation technique. 

Earlier this year the film was presented as an international premiere at the prestigious International Film Festival Rotterdam, where the first reactions were very positive. Distributed in Canada by La Distributrice de filmsArchipelago will open in Quebec theatres in the fall of 2021.

A true animated film about invented islands. About an imaginary, linguistic, political territory. About a real or dreamed country, or something in between. Archipelago is a film of drawings and speeches, that tells and dreams a place and its inhabitants, to tell and dream a little of our world and times.

Trailer: vimeo.com/493531565

About the filmmaker

Born in 1981 in Quebec, Félix Dufour-Laperrière is a director, screenwriter and producer. His work, which shows a constant tension between narrative and formal exploration, maintains a close connection with the visual and contemporary arts. His films, among which the documentary Transatlantique (IFFR 2014), have been presented in numerous festivals, museums and events of importance, where they have won several awards. Ville Neuve (2018), his first animated feature, drawn and painted entirely on paper, had its world premiere at the Mostra (Venice Days) and has since been released in theatres in Quebec, France and Japan. His animated documentary essay, Archipelago, is premiering in 2021 in competition in Rotterdam. He is now working on his third animated feature film, Death Does Not Exist


Animation / documentary. Quebec. 2021. 72 minutes. Original French version with English subtitles.

Director: Félix Dufour-Laperrière | Screenplay and dialogue: Félix Dufour-Laperrière | Editing: Félix Dufour-Laperrière | Voices: Florence Blain Mbaye, Joséphine Bacon, Mattis Savard-Verhoeven | Sound design: Olivier Calvert, Samuel Gagnon-Thibodeau | Mix: Jean-Paul Vialard (ONF) | Original music: Stéphane Lafleur, Christophe Lamarche-Ledoux | Produced by: Nicolas Dufour-Laperrière, Félix Dufour-Laperrière | Production: Embuscade Films | Distribution: La Distributrice de films and Miyu Distribution



Hot Docs 2021bit.ly/Archipelago_HotDocs2021

ARCHIPELAGO was produced with the financial participation of the Société de développement des entreprises culturelles (SODEC), Telefilm Canada, the Crédit d’impôt cinéma et télévision (Gestion SODEC), the Canadian Film or Video Production Tax Credit, the Canadian Art Council, the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, with the collaboration of the Aide au cinéma indépendant de l’ONF (ACIC) and Ciclic Centre-Val de Loire, l’agence régionale pour le livre, l’image et la culture numérique.

EMBUSCADE FILMS is dedicated to making a different cinema: animated films, creative documentaries and atypical fictions. Founded by Nicolas and Félix Dufour-Laperrière in 2013, the production company favours unique aesthetics and puts its resourcefulness and independence of mind at the service of strong auteur visions. It sees cinema as art, meaning as refuge, and risk-taking as essential.

LA DISTRIBUTRICE DE FILMS distributes and represents Canadian short and feature films in close collaboration with filmmakers and producers. It supports some twenty films a year, including works by Sophie Goyette, Ashley McKenzie, Denis Côté, Olivier Godin, Jennifer Alleyn, Félix Dufour-Laperrière, Matthew Rankin, Sarianne Cormier, Kazik Radwanski, Jennifer Reeder, Rayn McKenna and Fanie Pelletier.