February 02

2023 JUNO Nominee Announcement presented by Ontario Creates live at CBC

By Sally Warburton & A.J.Lam

The 52nd Annual JUNO Awards and JUNO Week 2023 will take place in Edmonton, AB from Thursday, March 9 through Monday, March 13, 2023, culminating with The JUNO Awards Broadcast hosted by Simu Liu. Tickets to The 2023 JUNO Awards on sale now.

For the first time since 2020, CARAS and the JUNO Awards brought Canada’s music community together for the highly anticipated return of the live and in-person 2023 JUNO Nominee Announcement presented by Ontario Creates (formerly known as JUNO Nominee Press Conference)!   

We had  a chance to join the red carpet to speak with select nominees plus key JUNO Awards and MusiCounts leaders.  Allan Reid, President & CEO, CARAS/The JUNO Awards ,Kristy Fletcher, President, MusiCounts  
Julie Adam, Chair, CARAS/The JUNO Awards & MusiCounts, Aysanabee Blackie And The Rodeo Kings and The Reklaws, were some of the people/musicians in attendance.

Avril Lavigne and pop singer Tate McRae tied for the second-highest number of nominations, with five each, while country duo the Reklaws, pop star Shawn Mendes, R&B/pop singer Preston Pablo and electronic music producers Banx & Ranx each come away with three nominations. 

Juno winner Jessie Reyez, first-time Juno nominee Aysanabee (for contemporary Indigenous artist or group of the year) and rock group Alexisonfire will be performing for the March 13 show.

Single of the year

  • “Bite Me,” Avril Lavigne 
  • “Flowers Need Rain,” Preston Pablo and Banx & Ranx 
  • “When You’re Gone,” Shawn Mendes 
  • “She’s all I Wanna Be,” Tate McRae 
  • “Sacrifice,” the Weeknd
Loading video

International album of the year

  • =, Ed Sheeran
  • Harry’s House, Harry Styles
  • Montero, Lil Nas X
  • Midnights, Taylor Swift
  • Red (Taylor’s Version), Taylor Swift 

Album of the year

  • Who Hurt You?, Ali Gatie
  • Love Sux, Avril Lavigne
  • Demons Protected By Angels, Nav
  • I Used to Think I Could Fly, Tate McRae
  • Dawn FM, the Weeknd 

Artist of the year

  • Avril Lavigne
  • Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • Michael Bublé
  • Shawn Mendes
  • The Weeknd 

Group of the year

  • Arcade Fire
  • Arkells
  • Billy Talent
  • Metric
  • The Reklaws 

Breakthrough artist of the year

  • Dax
  • Devon Cole
  • Preston Pablo
  • RealestK
  • Rêve 

On this week’s episode of The Intro, we’re featuring Devon Cole. She joins host Jess Huddleston to chat all things music, and social media.  19:18

Breakthrough group of the year

  • Banx & Ranx
  • Harm & Ease
  • Rare Americans
  • Tommy Lefroy
  • Wild Rivers 

Songwriter of the year

  • Abel Tesfaye: “Less Than Zero” (co-songwriters Tomoko Yamaguch, Hamada Tetsuro, Daniel Lopatin, the Weeknd); “Out of Time” (co-songwriters Max Martin, Fragogian Josefsson, Axel Hedfors, Oscar Holter, Sebastian Ingrosso, Carl Nordstrom, Kevin Duane McCord); “Sacrifice” (co-songwriters Max Martin, Fragogian Josefsson, Axel Hedfors, Oscar Holter, Sebastian Ingrosso, Carl Nordstrom, Kevin Duane McCord).
  • Faouzia: “Anybody Else” (co-songwriters Andre Davidson, Michelle Buzz, Sean Davidson);
  • “Puppet” (co-songwriters Andre Davidson, Johnny Goldstein, Sean Davidson); “RIP, Love” (co-songwriters Fran Hall, Jakke Erixson).
  • Tate McRae: “Chaotic” (co-songwriter Victoria Zaro); “Feel Like Shit” (co-songwriters Victoria Zaro, Jacob Hindlin, Russell J Chell); “She’s all I Wanna Be” (co-songwriter Greogry Kurstin).
  • Tenille Townes: “The Last Time” (co-songwriters Gordon Sampson, Benjamin Goldsmith); “When you Need It” (co-songwriter Stephen Wrabel); “When’s it Gonna Happen” (co-songwriters Stephenie Jones, Stephen Wrabel).
  • Tobi: “Before we Panic” (co-songwriters Alex Goose, Eric Hagstrom, John Stephen Sudduth, Kevin Martin, Tony Martin, Stephenie Jones, Stephen Wrabel); “Flowers” (co-songwriters Alex Goose, Daniele Luppi, Homer Steinweiss, Nick Movshon, Nicole Wray, Leon Michels, Paul Spring); “Move” (co-songwriters Alex Goose, Jessica Lee Hansell, Jon Bap, Robin Hannibal, Tavon Thompson, Tyler Demorest).
Loading video

Country album of the year

  • Way Back, High Valley
  • Honkytonk Revival, Jade Eagleson 
  • Bronco, Orville Peck
  • Masquerades, Tenille Townes 
  • Good Ol’ Days, the Reklaws 

Adult alternative album of the year

  • Born Losers, Altameda 
  • The Garden, Basia Bulat 
  • Being Somewhere, Dan Mangan 
  • Colder Streams, the Sadies 
  • How is it That I Should Look at the Stars, the Weather Station 

Alternative album of the year

  • Blue Rev, Alvvays 
  • Duality, Luna Li 
  • Sewn Back Together, Ombiigizi 
  • The Unraveling of PupTheBand, Pup 
  • Tongues, Tanya Tagaq

We would like to thank Cherise Williams of Rock-It Promotions for the invitation to this event.