Category Archives: Award Gala

September 19

Toronto International Film Festival announces 2022 award winners

The Toronto International Film Festival® has announced its award recipients for the 47th edition of the Festival, which concluded last evening with the Closing Night screening of Mary Harron’s Dalíland at the Visa Screening Room at the Princess of Wales Theatre and Roy Thomson Hall. “2022 brought an exceptional selection of films that excited festival audiences around […]

September 12

TIFF Tribute Awards

TIFF Tribute Awards   “This Festival is really stepping ahead and moving the needle by intention” — Meryl Streep, recipient of the 2019 TIFF Tribute Actor Award The TIFF Tribute Awards presented by Bvlgari honour the film industry’s outstanding contributors and their achievements, recognizing leading industry members, acting talent, directorial expertise, new talent, and below-the-line […]

August 13

The 14th Annual Canadian Immigrant Awards@The Sheraton Centre-Aug.11th,2022

By Sally W. In its 14th year, the Canadian Immigrant Awards took place at the Sheraton Centre Hotel in downtown Toronto on August 11th. The awards celebrate the success of immigrants from all across Canada. It was an evening to celebrate the important contributions 25 Canadian Immigrants have achieved.  To receive their awards and to […]

August 09

Toronto International Film Festival announces 2022 TIFF Tribute Award for Performance.

Toronto International Film Festival announces 2022 TIFF Tribute Award for Performance The cast of Michael Grandage’s My Policeman — Harry Styles, Emma Corrin, Gina McKee, Linus Roache, David Dawson, and Rupert Everett — are the first-ever film ensemble to receive this honourPhoto credit: Courtesy of Prime Video — Cameron Bailey, CEO of TIFF, is delighted to announce that […]

July 19

The 5th Annual Oshawa Music Awards Announce This Year’s Nominees 

Celebrating Music in Durham Region, the 2022 OMAs Take Place September 29th Public Voting is Open Now! Website Under wraps no more, the Oshawa Music Awards have announced this year’s nominees!  Marking its fifth year celebrating music in Durham Region, the 2022 OMAs are set to take place Thursday, September 29th, and will honour artists […]

April 12

The 2022 Canadian Screen Awards on CBC and CBC Gem on Sunday, April 10, 2022

The selection of prominent categories and tributes to this year’s Special Award recipients, the 2022 Canadian Screen Awards on CBC and CBC Gem was a star-powered, creatively curated treat for fans of our homegrown entertainment, highlighting Canadian content and its notable moments that made us laugh, cry, and reflect over the past year. Featuring the […]

April 05

15 Finalists Announced for Johanna Metcalf Performing Arts Prizes 2021-2022

Metcalf Foundation Announces15 Finalists for the 2021Johanna Metcalf Performing Arts Prizes/Les Prix Johanna-Metcalf des Arts de la scèneThe Metcalf Foundation is pleased to announce today the 15 finalists for the 2021 Johanna Metcalf Performing Arts Prizes/Les Prix Johanna-Metcalf des Arts de la scène (Johannas).The five winners and their protégés will be announced on May 19, 2022 at a […]

March 25

Nominees Announced for the Country Music Association of Ontario Awards

 The Country Music Association of Ontario Announces  2022 CMAOntario Awards Nominees Meghan Patrick, Robyn Ottolini, Tebey, and Jade Eagleson Lead In Nominations The hosts of CMAOntario Awards Show: Robyn Ottolini and Jason McCoyMarch 24, 2022 (TORONTO)The Country Music Association of Ontario (CMAOntario) is excited to announce the nominees for the 10th Annual CMAOntario Awards, taking place on Sunday, June […]

March 03

MusiCounts Announces Five Nominees for Prestigious Teacher of the Year AwardWinner to be Revealed Live on the 2022 JUNO Awards Broadcast 

MusiCounts, Canada’s leading music education charity, is excited to announce five nominees for the 2022 MusiCounts Teacher of the Year Award, presented by the Canadian Scholarship Trust Foundation. Each year, the MusiCounts Teacher of the Year Award recognizes an inspirational Canadian music educator’s impact on students and music education. Today, the charity is proud to highlight the five […]

March 02

Arkells, Avril Lavigne, Charlotte Cardin and Mustafa to perform at The 2022 JUNO Awards Broadcast, live on CBC  

      The full performance line up for the 51st annual show, spanning many genres and styles, will be announced in phases leading up to the event  Tickets to the JUNO Awards go on sale Friday, March 4 and are available online at The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) and CBC today announced the […]

March 02

Black music trailblazer Denise Jones to posthumously receive the 2022 Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award

The award will be presented at the JUNO Opening Night Awards Presented by Ontario Creates on May 14, streaming on CBC Gem and  The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) today announced that Denise Jones, one of the most influential voices in Canada’s Black entertainment community, will be posthumously awarded the 2022 Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award as […]

February 26

Caveboy And Nuela Charles Win Second Annual Her Music Awards

Caveboy And Nuela Charles Win Second Annual Her Music Awards New To This Year – Five Additional Artists Receive Honourable Mention Prizes SOCAN Foundation, part of the SOCAN Group of companies, in partnership with Bandzoogle, is excited to announce Nuela Charles and Caveboy as the winners of the second annual Her Music Awards. They each received a grand prize of $5,000 […]

February 22

Blues Guitarist/Singer SUE FOLEY Scores Three Blues Music Award Nominations for Her Pinky’s Blues CD from The Blues Foundation

MEMPHIS, TN  –  Pinky’s Blues, the new Stony Plain Records album from award-winning blues guitarist/singer Sue Foley, scored a trifecta of nominations at the recently announced nominees from the Blues Foundation for the 43rd Blues Music Awards.  Foley garnered nominations for “Album of the Year,” “Traditional Blues Album,” and “Traditional Blues Female Artist.” “I’m over the […]

January 27

SOCAN Foundation Announces Second Annual Her Music Awards

SOCAN Foundation, part of the SOCANGroup of companies, in partnership with Bandzoogle, is thrilled to announce the second annual Her Music Awards.The Her Music Awards is a program designed to celebrate and support female-identified, mid-career Canadian music creators who are on the verge of taking their creative careers to the next level. The Awards are administered by the SOCAN Foundation, with […]

January 17

Toronto Film Critics Association  Announces 2021 Award Winners

Ryusuke Hamaguchi’s Drive My Car wins Best Picture, Best International Film and Best Screenplay Double acting awards and Best First Feature for Maggie Gyllenhaal’s The Lost Daughter Beans, Night Raiders and Scarborough compete for Rogers Best Canadian Film Award and $100,000 prize Ryusuke Hamaguchi’s Drive My Car took three top awards from the Toronto Film Critics Association (TFCA), while Maggie Gyllenhaal’s directorial debut The Lost Daughter was […]